Almost raw frappuccino

I’ve never been much of coffee person. I love the smell, and like the taste, but coffee isn’t something I crave, think about or consume with any regularity. I guess there was a brief stint in high school where my friends and I ate disgusting fast food every day for lunch and drank lots of Tim Horton’s iced cappuccinos. But I think I liked those not so much because of the coffee, but because of the sugar and fat. Yuck! (For non-Canadian readers, Tim Horton’s is basically like Dunkin Donuts. Classy.)

Anyway, I recently got it into my head that it would be fun to create a frozen coffee beverage. I keep hearing about how good the new Starbucks vegan frappuccinos taste, and Lisa posted an awesome-looking recreation a couple of weeks ago, so I figured it would be fun to make my own healthier version at home.

Before we go on… yes, I know coffee isn’t raw, and it’s supposedly acidifying and therefore not great for you. And do I care? Not particularly. I have so few bad habits these days that a cup of coffee once a week or so isn’t going to do much damage.

This recipe is actually almost raw, with the obvious exception of the coffee. It includes Sun Warrior protein, because I like drinking this after my morning gym sessions on the weekend. I find the Sun Warrior also helps thicken up this frosty treat. If you want to skip the protein, go ahead — just add more banana, cashews and/or chia instead.

Raw-ish Frappuccino

1/2 cup almond milk (preferably raw, or use Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze if you’re lazy like I sometimes am)

3/4 cup strongly brewed coffee, chilled (preferably organic and fair trade!)

1/4 cup cashews

1 tbsp chia seeds

1.5 scoops vanilla Sun Warrior protein

1 frozen banana

1 tbsp maca powder

1 cup ice

Instructions

Blend the almond milk, coffee, cashews and chia seeds in a high speed blender until silky smooth. Add protein, frozen banana, maca and ice, and blend until ice is completely pulverized.

A fun variation on this is a Chocolate Raw-ish Frappuccino: simply add 1 tbsp raw cacao powder and/or use chocolate Sun Warrior instead. Add some agave or stevia if you find the cacao makes it too bitter for your taste.

Hope you enjoy! For someone who is an infrequent coffee drinker, I’ve always found it strange that the caffeine in coffee never gives me a buzz. Am I the only one who seems immune to the caffeine?

14 Comments to “Almost raw frappuccino”

  1. This sounds like an awesome variation! I will definitely give it a try this week. I think mixing my coffee with so many health promoting ingredients – especially Maca in this case – helps to balance the impacts of the caffeine.

    Thanks Camille.

  2. Yum! I have all the ingredients except I will replace the coffee with Teechino! πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

  3. I bet the taste of the coffee masks the sunwarrior–I find it a bit strong.

    I love the flavor of coffee but since I quit it gives me heartburn–boo. I need to try extract.

    • Thumbs down for heartburn! Good call on the coffee extract. I sometimes use it to intensify the flavour. Or maybe Lauren’s plan to use Teecino would work too?

  4. i have been looking for coffee extract…haven’t been able to find it…i would definitely give this a try, one day, when i finally have a vitamix!!!

    =)

  5. i have coffee extract!! (in response to nelly’s post above). i think i will make a version of this as soon as my sun warrior protein gets here… i ordered it from onlineland. i have all other ingredients!!

    i adore nut milk (i tried hemp bliss for the first time this weekend – i actually like it way more than almond breeze) but am far too lazy to make any myself.

  6. Hey, it doesn’t matter that it is only ‘raw’ ish. Gotta have some bad habits hey? Oh and I hear ya on the not particularly needed a coffee, but I do like the smell of a coffee. I probably have one every 2 months and when I do I have a massive BUZZZZZZZ

  7. This sounds perfect! I’ve been craving iced coffee et al this summer. Can’t wait to try this one out! x

  8. I’m TOTALLY immune to caffeine too. I was just saying a few days ago that I wonder if I’m totally alone in that! Glad to know I’m not. Thanks for this recipe!

  9. YUM!!!

    I am the same way with caffeine! That’s so funny because I’ve always seemed to be the only one. I’ve only had a “caffeine buzz” once in my life, and that was when I drank like 10 cups of coffee when I was at a family gathering when I was 14 years old… (Don’t ask me why I did that.) But, yeah, I love the taste & smell of coffee, but don’t “need” it, or feel any different when I drink it.

  10. This looks so good I can almost taste it!

  11. Yummm! This looks sooo good πŸ™‚ I’m not a huge coffee fan, but I would certainly like ot try this sometime. Thanks for sharing Camille.

Leave a Reply

