Girls night out at Rawlicious

I was lucky enough to hang out with one of my favourite blogger friends last night, fellow Torontonian Nelly! We hit up the backyard patio at Rawlicious for some tasty raw food, tea and conversation. It’s so fun to meet someone in person whose life you’ve been following online for ages. There is always so much to talk about! In fact we kept yakking way after the restaurant closed and eventually started to worry we were keeping them there for us (although they said we weren’t). Jenny was planning to join us, too, but sadly could not make it in the end.

We started out with the nachos, which came with olives, hot banana peppers, green onions, salsa, guacamole and raw vegan sour cream. Totally tasty.

Nelly had the nightly special, the meatloaf. (It sounds funny saying “meatloaf” instead of “nutloaf” but that’s what they called it!) WOW. It was stellar and we are both dying to find a similar recipe. Does anyone have a good raw nutloaf recipe?

I had the caesar wrap with a side salad. It was equally delicious! It was wrapped in a yummy collard leaf and included some nice, chewy croutons.

Perhaps surprisingly, given the usual dessert-focused fare on our blogs, we were both too full to stuff in any sweets. But Nelly had kindly brought me some of her moonies (this girl is a moon pie machine). We tried to bribe the restaurant staff with a moonie in exchange for the meatloaf recipe but no such luck. We left them one anyway πŸ™‚

Nelly’s awesome moonies weren’t the only thing I left with after our Rawlicious feast… I also bought a new spiralizer – the lovely Paderno kind that makes the very best veggie noodles. I already have a Saldacco spiralizer but the thin noodles it produces are no match for the thick ones the Paderno spits out! It’s not like I really needed another kitchen appliance but what can you do… now I just have to find some cupboard space for it.

Now, for some other fun news. A few of us raw/vegan/food blogger girls from Toronto have been planning a little get together next weekend at my place to share raw desserts and any other yummy food that anyone wants to bring. We’re thinking next Saturday afternoon would be good, and we can enjoy the sunshine on my patio if the weather cooperates. So if you want to come, leave a comment or email me at rawcandyblog@gmail.com.

15 Comments to “Girls night out at Rawlicious”

  1. Gena at Choosing Raw has an AMAZING nutloaf. my wife made it for us and it was spectacular. lots of work, but worth every second. Here’s the link πŸ™‚ Enjoy! Hope you stop by my blog sometime.

    http://www.choosingraw.com/choosing-raws-christmas-2009-menu/

  2. I adore you gals! So glad you had fun meeting up! Can’t wait to hear about your visit next weekend too!
    XO

  3. Fun fun! And delicious looking food too! Wish I was there! Have fun next weekend too!

  4. i had soooooooooo much fun darling…thank you so much…the food was fantastic and the company was lovely…

    can’t wait for next weekend…we should talk about the menu though, shouldn’t we??? haha! i have NO idea what to bring!

    thanks again for last night…let’s do it again soon!

    =)

  5. Hi ladies, I’m sorry I couldn’t join you last night but I’m looking forward to the patio party. I have to be at an event at 5 pm but I would love to spend my afternoon with you two.

    xo

  6. What a fun time! Looks like a great raw restaurant and yummy moon pies for dessert were probably way better than anything the restaurant made I’m guessing.

  7. Looks like a great time was had with good eats with a yum ending. Jealous of your new toy! Have fun noodle making. lol! πŸ˜‰

  8. Sounds like such fun!!! I need same fellow raw food or vegans in my part of the world (UK). πŸ™‚

  9. It just amazes me how there is so many raw subsitutions for so many things! I wish we had a raw restaurant here!

  10. oh i wish i could come!!!!! i can’t believe i may miss out again but i’m volunteering at nxne on saturday… if i came after the shift ended, it would be dinnertime 😦 i’m going to have to see if i can engineer my way out of this somehow. i’ve been wanting to make a raw dessert using yacon syrup for the last little while, too…

    love the photos… the appetizer looks really good.

    hope you had a lovely weekend camille πŸ™‚

    xoxo

    • Noooo not again! Well if you can’t get out of it, all is not lost — I was thinking it would be fun to have it continue on into the evening if people are into that. I know Lisa can only make it in the afternoon but I have nothing else on the go that day so am totally happy to keep the festivities going for as long as people feel like sticking around πŸ™‚

  11. What a fun time!!! Great food and moonie pies…yum! Can’t wait to hear about next weekend too:)

  12. What a fabulous time! Everything looks great!! Can’t wait to read about your next meetup!

  13. Camille! How did I miss all of your recent, fabulous posts?! πŸ™‚ The meeting at Rawlicious looks like it was so much fun! Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to meet up with you all at some point!

  14. Lucky girls! Great pictures, thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

