By request: Amaretti Cookie recipe

I had a request from a reader, Lorri, who was looking for the recipe for the amaretti cookie I used in my Chocolate Cherry Amaretto ice cream cake. Truth be told, I didn’t write the recipe down when I made it, nor did I snap photos because I ate most of them too fast, but here is my best attempt at recreating the magic!

Note that this recipe calls for fine almond flour: I make mine by grinding almonds in the food processor until they are about as fine as they can get before becoming oily, then sifting through a flour sifter to separate the coarser pieces. You can skip the sifting step if you like – they will taste the same.

Amaretti Cookies

Ingredients

2 cups fine almond flour

1/4 cup maple sugar

1 tbsp agave

1 tbsp water, or as needed

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp almond extract

Instructions

Combine all ingredients in a bowl until well-mixed. Add water as needed to create a dough-like consistency, but don’t let it get sticky. Roll into desired thickness, cut into desired shapes with cookie cutter. Transfer cookies to a lined dehydrator tray. Dehydrate at 115F for 24 hours or until desired firmness has been reached.

*For a quicker, no-dehydrator-required version, omit the water and add 2 tbsp melted coconut oil. Cut rolled dough into desired shapes and place cookies in the freezer for 10 minutes or until firm.

8 Responses to “By request: Amaretti Cookie recipe”

  1. thank you! sounds easy to do.

  2. How kind, thank you very much. This is just what I need to try to duplicate your ice cream cake recipe for my husbands birthday as I purchased Heathers Ebook for the base recipes.

  3. Yum, this sounds great! And I love that you’ve added what to do if you don’t have a dehydrator (which I don’t) 🙂 thanks x

  4. Wow, thanks! These sound amazing!

  5. These sounds really good and I have all the ingreds…on my list to make now…thank you!

  6. How funny…I make almost the the exact recipe (the one with the coconut oil)!!! Great minds think alike…wink 😉

  7. I can smell the delicious aroma of the cookies. It MUST BE mouth-watering. Got to try it!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

