Garden update + Spring Herb Dressing recipe

It’s a long weekend here in Canada, and so far it has been a great one! We kicked it off with a trip to Ikea on Saturday, on a mission to find patio furniture. We’ve been looking for weeks, but have had one hell of a time finding a set that would fit out the narrow window-door that leads to our rooftop, where the patio is located. But Ikea never lets me down – success!

Today was an absolutely beautiful day in Toronto, so I took advantage by spending a little time in my community garden plot, and a little more time tending to the potted plants in the patio garden. I’m so excited by how much the kale has grown in the three weeks since I planted it. Same thing with the herb! My mint, basil and cilantro have become especially huge – here are some progress pics.

I also planted some new little kale plants, along with a few rainbow chard.

So I took advantage of the bounty of spring herbs and created a new salad dressing for my kale, broccoli raab and cabbage salad.

Spring Herb Dressing

Ingredients

1 avocado

3 tbsp water

2 tbsp tahini

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp tamari

handful each of chives, cilantro, parsley

Instructions

Blend all ingredients in blender until smooth.

14 Responses to “Garden update + Spring Herb Dressing recipe”

  1. ohh i love plant photos! yours look great! is that two different kinds of mint i see in the one pic?

    • You’re right — it’s plain old peppermint, and chocolate mint growing together! Yesterday I saw a whole bunch more varieties for sale — ginger, pineapple and orange mint — and I’m so tempted to buy them too…

  2. beautiful pictures camille, as usual. i dont have a community garden plot, but i did buy a sprouting kit this weekend at the big carrot (which i hadnt been to before… now i’m totally addicted).

  3. Yum, broccoli rabe is my favorite, I’ve never had it raw though!

    Your garden is beautiful. I love the baby chards! So cute! My kale is blooming as well! 🙂 Enjoy!

    • It’s delicious raw! I never would have thought to try it that way but I had this amazing broccoli raab salad at Candle 79, with lemon, capers and olives. Been hooked ever since 🙂

  4. Love the planting pictures. I find them inspiring. Is there still time in the season to plant some kale? My thumb is far from green but that can be changed, right? 🙂

    • There is definitely still time to plant kale! Just pick up some little seedlings that have already been started, and pop them in pots that are a foot or more in diameter. Kale is majorly hardy, so even if your thumb isn’t quite green, it should still yield some delicious leafy greenness 🙂

  5. So happy to hear you had a great weekend. Your new furniture is so pretty! Love the garden pics.

    I made your yummy dressing today, and enjoyed it so much! Thanks for sharing:)

  6. wow, all of those basil varieties sound amazing! chocolate mint? sounds perfect for raw ice cream!

    i saw that evergreen made your dressing – i have it bookmarked to try very soon! thanks for sharing.=)

  7. i love your little baby plants, they are so adorable…

    so you got all of these at the loblaws at christie and dupont? i think that is what you mentioned the last time i asked…i am really interested in the ginger and pineapple mint…sounds amazing!!!

    thanks for sharing this post!!

    =)

  8. this is incredible!!
    i need to buy herbs NOW.
    and that dressing looks bomb, it’s going to be on my next salad for sure!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

