Moon Pie adventures

Whenever I get the chance to visit New York City, one of my first stops is always Sarma Melngailis‘ famous raw restaurant Pure Food & Wine, and the attached One Lucky Duck juice bar and takeaway. While the food at the restaurant is totally mind blowing, and perfect for a big night out, the takeaway is smaller and really great for grabbing a juice and a snack more quickly — usually, in my case, while out and about shopping. And my absolute favourite snack is the Moon Pie – a raw, healthy take on the classic cookie-marshmallow-chocolate delight. Raw foodies everywhere rave about One Lucky Duck’s moon pies.

Moon Pie from One Lucky Duck

Moon Pie from One Lucky Duck

So you can imagine my interest was piqued when Heathy came up with her own recipe for the Moon Pie, and decided to hold a Moonie Pie making contest! Obviously, I had to enter. The rules are that contestants must make the moon pies, blog about them or email photos, and we have the option to vary up to two ingredients.

I thought it would be fun to add berries into the recipe somehow. (I was inspired by some brand of cookie I’ve seen that has a red berry jelly-like layer, with marshmallow and chocolate. For the life of my, I can’t remember the name of this cookie. Any ideas?) So I grabbed some raspberries, and started experimenting, and… well, let’s just say the experiment fizzled! I blended up the raspberries with some irish moss, in search of a firm, jelly-like texture, and it did not go as planned! Once I had partially assembled the treats, with the chocolate brownie layers, raspberry layer, and cream, I realized my concoction was not meant to be. So I ditched the raspberry gunk, and somehow managed to salvage the rest of the components. I redid the cream layer, this time adding in strawberries. Much tastier! For your viewing pleasure, here are some photos of the process and the finished result. I have to keep them in the freezer to thwart the temptation to devour them all at once!

27 Responses to “Moon Pie adventures”

  1. yum! those look great!

  2. OH my Gawd those look incredible.. I wanna bite

  3. LOVE your Moon Pie variation!

  4. That looks so yummy and beautiful!

    xoxo

  5. I want, I want, I want!!!! I went to One Lucky Duck last weekend and they didn’t have any!!!! I was totally disappointed. All this Moonpie talk from Heathy has my mouth watering! Good luck!!!!

  6. OMG girl, I LOVE your pies! Thanks for the photo fiesta too! Added a pic to my post πŸ˜‰

  7. Wow, your moon pies look absolutely delicious! The chocolate coating is so smooth…every time I try to make raw chocolate is turns out chunkier.

  8. Those look so delicious! Chocolate and raspberries is one of my favorite combinations πŸ™‚

  9. Beautiful! So how does Heather’s recipe compare to the One Lucky Duck moon pies?

  10. Absolutely gorgeous! My mouth is watering just looking at it!

  11. your moonies look divine…i would love to make them!!!

    i know that moon pies have fruit flavoured ones…or i think they’re called something puff’s…

    anywho…i bought the cashew creamery ice cream at the big carrot…i bought the last mint chocolate chip…BUT they did have other flavours and i am sure they will re-stock shortly, i was going to call and ask because i really want more…i finished it too quickly!!!

    where are you from?

  12. n/m…you’re from toronto…i figured you lived in the GTA…but didn’t realize you live in toronto…

    i’m going to follow you…i love finding bloggers from toronto…it makes me happy to know that perhaps we can exchange information!!!

    =)

    thanks for your comment!

    i had no idea rawliscious existed until i read through your posts!

    have a great day!

    • Hi Nelly! Yep, I’m in downtown Toronto. I always love finding new raw/vegan bloggers in Toronto as well — I think we should hold a meet up sometime this spring because there seem to be enough of us! Thanks for the info on the ice cream. I think a trip to the Big Carrot is definitely in order for me now. And I love your moon pies too πŸ™‚

  13. Thanks to all of you for the lovely comments πŸ™‚ The moon pies are totally delicious although sadly, I only have one left now. I think another batch is in order soon… and if you haven’t done it yet, get Heathy’s recipe ASAP and try them yourself! They’re actually really easy to make, and you’ll love the taste.

  14. yes we should totally do a meet-up!!! that would be so much fun!!!

    =)

    keep me posted!!!

  15. Happy belated birthday!! I hope your knee is healing fast! THIS MOONPIE OF YOURS. BLEW MY MIND. it’s gorgeous first of all, and looks so delicious. Good job, I saw the challenge and i was like, NOO too difficult.
    Have you finished exams yet?
    ALSO, about your garden, and planting, let me know if you found anything out. I really want to have as many vegetables as possible in my backyard for the summer!

  16. Your moonies are gorgeous girlie!! We live close enough to do a swap πŸ˜‰

  17. Oh, yummy. Where’s the recipe please?

  18. Where have you been able to find irish moss?

  19. just found a local store to purchase irish moss, Thunas on the danforth. The guy i spoke to said it tasted like Whale’s buttwipe??(laughs for the afternoon!!!
    Any advice on using or not using this product?

  20. Maybe it is Pims raspberry cookies you were thinking of…your moonie pies reminded me of those πŸ™‚

  21. wow u r talented! I want a recipe! (-:

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

