Birthday dinner at Rawlicious

I turned one year older this week, but I didn’t get much of a chance to celebrate on the actual day of my birthday due to an unfortunate incident involving my bicycle, my left knee and the hard, hard pavement. Ouch! The injury is on the mend, but it kind of put a damper on birthday festivities (that, and the fact that it’s exam time). But I made up for it last night with a trip to one of Toronto’s best raw restaurants: Rawlicious.

I had only been to Rawlicious once before – on a visit to Toronto last year before actually moving here – but I loved the food. Their focus is on simple dishes, prepared with fresh, raw and organic ingredients. The restaurant is in an on-its-way-to-hip neighbourhood known as The Junction, and has a relaxed and slightly zen-like vibe, with beautiful hardwood floors, calming decor, and some great artwork. It also has some super-comfy cushion seating and lovely backyard patio seating for warmer weather.

We sipped on a big pot of Nourish Green Tea, and ordered the Nori Rolls to start. They were delish! Using alfalfa sprouts instead of rice, the nori sheets enclosed veggies, avocado and marinated mushrooms.

I tried the Pasta Bolognese for my main course, and loved it. With zucchini noodles, a marinara sauce, pesto and crumbled walnut meat, it incorporated very authentic Italian flavours and really hit the spot. The Pad Thai was also super — kelp noodles with a creamy sauce, romaine lettuce, and veggies.

Neither of us ran out of room after the mains, so dessert was next. I indulged in a piece of Pecan Pie, which I loved. There was a nutty crust, and then the pie layer, topped with whole pecans. I think dates and pecans were the main ingredients in the pie layer, so it’s totally an easy-to-make-at-home kind of sweet. On the other side of the table, a chocolate brownie was enjoyed, topped with a layer of coconut cream. If I had to guess, I’d probably say it was simply agave and coconut butter. My lovely dinner date found the coconut icing a little thick, but I loved it.

It was a great belated birthday meal! I can’t wait to get back to Rawlicious once the weather heats up and patio season begins – the backyard patio truly is magical.

In other news, I’ve been working on some delicious moon pies for Heather’s Moon Pie Challenge, and I’ll be blogging about this in the coming days, complete with mouthwatering photos, I hope. Until then, have a great weekend!

5 Comments to “Birthday dinner at Rawlicious”

  1. Awesome, hadn’t heard of it before, but ill be sure to eat there next time I’m in TO – and I’ll call you up to join me! 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Sorry about your bicycle accident – glad you’re on the mend now.

    Happy belated birthday! That zucchini dish looks good (love the idea of adding in walnut meat)…so does the Phad Thai.

    Look forward to your moonie pie challenge entry!

  3. I know where I’m going if I am ever in Toronto! YUM! Happy Belated Birthday! Sorry about your bike accident, but this meal looks like it made up for it!

  4. happy birthday! glad you got to celebrate with amazing food. (i’m drooling over those pics!=)

Leave a Reply

