Mad about mint!

Hello friends!

For whatever reason, I’ve been on a total mint kick lately. It started one stressed out night last week, after I realized it had been unwise of me to take on a certain last-minute, time-intensive extracurricular activity so close to exams! So I consoled myself with a pint of Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Mint Chip ice cream.

The next night, I was inspired to create my own raw version of that minty treat, and it all went downhill (uphill?) from there! After the raw ice cream, which I dressed up with a chocolate cookie crumble, I moved on to the Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies from Sarma Melngailis’ Living Raw Food. And this morning, my breakfast was the best raw minty creation yet: the After Eight smoothie. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a pic of the After Eight goodness because I forgot downed it too fast! But some Twitter friends are asking for the recipe, so I’m posting it here. One of the best things about this smoothie is that it’s packed with leafy greens, so it’s ultra healthy and perfect for post-work out refueling due to the high protein. I’ve included the ice cream recipe, too. Luckily, I managed to snap pics of the ice cream and the thin mint cookies πŸ™‚

After Eight Smoothie

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups kale

1 cup nut milk (I used almond, but macadamia, hemp or even coconut would all be great)

1/2 of one banana, frozen

1 1/2 scoops Chocolate Sun Warrior Raw Protein Powder (my new fave!)

1/2 cup ice cubes

15 mint leaves

1/2 tsp peppermint extract

Directions

Blend all ingredients in a high-speed blender until completely smooth. Enjoy!

Note: if you don’t have any chocolate Sun Warrior, you could simply add a tablespoon of raw cacao powder, plus a packet of stevia or a tablespoon of agave. Some form of sweetener is relatively important if you sub out the Sun Warrior, since it contains stevia. For an extra chocolaty kick, you could also throw in some raw cacao nibs.

Raw Mint Ice Cream with Chocolate Cookie Crumble

1 1/2 cup cashews, soaked for two hours or more

3/4 cup filtered water

2 tbsp agave nectar

1 tbsp melted coconut butter

2 packets stevia

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp peppermint extract

pinch sea salt

Blend all ingredients in a high-speed blender until completely smooth. Chill the mixture in the refrigerator, then process in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions.

Chocolate Cookie Crumble

1/2 cup finely ground almonds

1/2 cup raw cacao powder

3 tbsp agave nectar

3 tbsp melted coconut butter

2 tsp vanilla extract

pinch sea salt

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and stir until very well combined. Spread the dough evenly across a parchment-lined pan or a Teflex sheet, and place in the freezer to chill for 15 minutes — the coconut oil will help the dough firm up. Break the hardened cookie into small pieces, and add them to the ice cream when it is at the frozen-but-still-soft stage.

10 Responses to “Mad about mint!”

  1. Mint is such a lovely refreshing flavour. I like it all year round but there is something about adding mint to salads, smoothies and desserts that makes it feel like spring. Thanks for sharing your fabulous recipe.

  2. Yum! And chocolate and mint were so meant to go together. πŸ™‚

  3. hey! i actually used peppermint extract in one of my green smoothies as well. it was easily the best green smoothie i’ve ever had. i will make it with cocoa powder next time πŸ™‚

  4. Mint/Chocolate = my favorite combo!! YUM!!!!! These look so delicious! Sunwarrior protein rocks!!! Love the stuff!

  5. OMG….those recipes sound really great!

    xoxo

  6. Great post, I am a mintaholic too. I love a smoothie that’s cocao, avocado and mint. I have to try the sun warrior protein, is it widely available?

    • It’s definitely worth a try. It seems like a lot of health food stores carry SunWarrior, and it’s available for order online, too. Hope you can find some!
      And the Shamrock Shake you linked to on your blog looks like pure heaven.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

