Carob chia cookies

Yesterday I made these cookies in literally 10 minutes before running out the door for the evening. They may or may not have been basically my entire supper.

I haven’t used carob powder much in my raw food adventures, but I am realizing it needs to play a more central role — it’s so good! Although a lot of people use it in place of cacao, I don’t see carob so much as a chocolate substitute but as a great ingredient on its own. It has a great caramel flavour. My carob powder wasn’t raw, but I’ve seen raw carob in some health food stores. Also, I used white chia seeds in these cookies (they were on sale the other day) and I like the way they add little white flecks to the dark cookies 🙂

Carob Chia Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup walnuts

1 cup dark raisins

3-4 medjool dates

1/3 cup carob powder

3 tablespoons chia seeds

pinch of salt

Directions

Toss all ingredients in a food processor and process until the mixture becomes dough-like. It may take awhile to break up the raisins, so give it a good few minutes. Roll out the dough and cut into shapes with your favourite cookie cutter, and place in the freezer to firm up. You could also roll them into balls to make it even less work.

Tags: , ,

15 Responses to “Carob chia cookies”

  1. Those look so good! And I LOVE dates and chia seeds!!! And, of course, chocolate/carob!! 😉

  2. Awesome! Those look really tasty!

  3. Oh yeah, those look really good … makes interested in working with carob again …

  4. Love these ingredients!

  5. Oh wow, I must make these soon. Thanks!

  6. oh wow, these look delightful!

  7. With this recipe you could do so many things and your cookies look great ….thank you!

    Enjoy!

    p.s. nice blog!

  8. Your cookies are beautiful! The white chia seeds look like tiny sprinkles:)

  9. These cookies look so good! I just found your blog, it’s really great. Love all of the food pics and recipes 🙂

  10. Those look good. I JUST bought some dates too!

  11. You can buy Chia Seeds of High Quality in
    Chia Seeds

    The article is great !!!

    Thank You.

  12. Are you using the chia seeds without soaking them? (:

  13. Last time I made anything with carob powder was homemade lara bars and it was a slight disaster. This looks like the perfect recipe to rekindle my relationship with the stuff. Thanks for posting!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment