Spicy raw kale chips

Let me start this post by explaining just how much I love kale. It’s my absolute favourite kind of green, and my top choice is always the straight-up, curly green variety. Sadly, my local Whole Foods hasn’t had any of the curly green goodness on the shelf for the past few days, so I’ve been forced to resort to the purple and dinosaur varieties (which are also great, just not quite the same).

I often consume two or more servings of kale per day — usually in a breakfast smoothie, a lunchtime salad, and maybe another way, too. That’s why I was immediately intrigued the first time I saw kale chips on the raw goods shelf of my favourite health store. It took me awhile to try them (possibly because of the hefty price tag), but once I did, I was hooked. I recently made my own for the first time, coming up with a recipe based on a few that are floating around online.

Kale chips: on their way into the dehydrator

Raw BBQ Kale Chips

Ingredients:

1 big bunch of kale

1/4 cup tahini

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

2 tablespoons tamari

liquid smoke (to taste)

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

water (to thin, as needed)

Instructions:

Tear kale into bite-sized pieces in a large bowl. In a blender, combine remaining ingredients until smooth. Add the mixture to the kale, and massage with hands until kale is well-coated with the seasoning. Spread kale on lined dehydrator trays, and dehydrate at 115 F for 6-8 hours, or until crisp. This a great snack to dry overnight. If you don’t have a dehydrator, apparently you can also pop them in the oven at the lowest temperature, leaving the door open a crack until they’re done.

These chips didn’t stand much of a chance in my house after they came out of the dehydrator. They were devoured within the hour, eaten so eagerly that I neglected to take a photo of the finished product – oops! Honestly, kale chips are just too good. Even potato chip addicts will fall for their crispy deliciousness.

This is a totally versatile snack, as there are tons of options for variations on the seasoning. Next time, I might try a wasabi garlic twist. Or maybe a cheesy version.

Tags: ,

6 Comments to “Spicy raw kale chips”

  1. I love kale chips! So much better then that fake stuff at the store.. AKA: Potato chips!

  2. We love our kale chips. BBQ flavor sound interesting 😉 Yum Can’t wait to see more!

  3. That hefty price has kept me from trying them too. I need to make some of my own!

  4. I am SO excited I just stumbled across your blog 🙂 I am also from Toronto and eat a mostly raw diet!
    I am obsessed with kale as well – when I make a batch of kale chips, I can’t keep them around, it’s like they are calling my name all day! 🙂
    Looking forward to continue to follow your blog!!
    xoxo

  5. Thanks for all the comments, everyone!

    Kristin, I am likewise excited to find your blog — so cool to see another mostly raw Torontonian! 🙂

  6. I’ve heard so much buzz about these healthy snacks and never jumped on the ban wagon to try them. I made them the other day and they are addicting! I made an italian version of them. Your recipe sounds like a fun twist.

Leave a Reply

