Blogger get together at Rawlicious

I’m back from my trip to PEI, with news of Monday’s awesome raw blogger meet up!

But first, a quick update on my friend’s wedding over the weekend: it was fabulous. I was going to post a photo of my bridesmaid dress from the big day, but I’m usually the one behind the camera, so I don’t have many pics of myself. I’ll share one if my friends have any decent shots. At any rate, the day went off without a hitch, my friend looked breathtakingly beautiful, and a good time was had by all.

Now, on to other exciting news. I had the great pleasure of hanging out with some of the loveliest ladies in the world yesterday afternoon at Toronto raw restaurant Rawlicious! Heathy was in town for a visit, Kelli made the trip in from New Jersey, Marlie drove up from the Niagara region, and then we had Nelly, Lisa, Kristin and myself from the Toronto area. What a wonderful time we had! It’s so somewhat surreal to meet blogger friends in person, given that we already know so much about each other from what we share on our blogs.

We sat in the back room at Rawlicious, at a long table surrounded by comfy cushions for seating. It was beyond fabulous to spend the afternoon chatting about raw food and life in this beautiful setting. Obviously, we photographed everything we ordered, and I think we all agreed that it was nice to be around others who understand the desire to get snapshots of great food. (I’m pretty sure a lot of my non-foodie friends find it odd!)

We started the meal with some nachos and spring rolls. I always enjoy their nachos, which are served with yummy raw sour cream, garlicky guacamole, salsa, olives, green onions, and hot peppers. Yum! The spring rolls were delicious and gingery.

Nelly and I both went for the caesar wrap – something I’ve had before and knew I would love! I adore the raw vegan dressing, and the onion bread croutons. I also enjoy the collard leaf wrap (I jump at the chance to get in more greens).

Heathy and Kristin had something similar – the caesar salad (minus the wrap).

Lisa went for the garden salad.

Kelli and Marlie split the pad thai and an olive currant salad.

And obviously, we had dessert! Others went for a raw macaroon or raw brownie bite, but I still had enough room for the blueberry cheesecake :) It was good! It was lighter than many cheesecakes I have tried, and came topped with a delicious blueberry sauce.

And finally, as if the pleasure of their company wasn’t enough, some ladies brought goodies to share! Marlie gave each of us an adorable cupcake container. So cool! I’ve never seen these before. I’ve never made a raw cupcake before, either, but have a feeling I might have to start taking them to work with me in my handy dandy new cupcake container. Heather brought some of her famous treats – pictured below is chocolate topped with maple sugar – yum! – and a foil-covered raw turtle. Mmmm pecan, caramel, and chocolate. And Nelly brought delicious moon pies! I swear, every time I see Nelly she sends me away with a new container of moon pies. She really knows how to be a good friend :) I would have loved to bring some treats for these great girls but time was short since I only got back to town the night before.

It was a perfect afternoon, and I’m so glad to have shared it with all of you ladies. I can’t wait for the next time we hang out, and I feel lucky to have such wonderful friends in my life.

15 Comments to “Blogger get together at Rawlicious”

  1. It was so amazing to finally meet Camille :) I am certain we will be seeing lots more of each other!

    Your pictures are stunningggg – they put mine to shame. I am now going to start saving my pennies for an SLR!! I’ll need some advice from you on which one to get :)

    xoxo

  2. What a wonderful time you ladies had!!! The food looked amazing ..yum! And so cute that there were gifts being exchanged love that:)
    Can you photoshop me into that last photo?? I want to pretend I was there lol!!

  3. Such fun! and what beauties! The food looks SO good! Enjoy!

  4. Wow, the food looks amazing and of course the company even better!!! What beautiful ladies!

  5. wow!! pictures look fantastic!!! you are all such gorgeous ladies. and such gorgeous food too… i really really want to try the spring rolls.

    ahh, i love nelly’s moonpies… haha!

  6. Great pics, great company and great food! I am super jealous!!! I wish I could of hung out with you all!!! :)

  7. great job capturing an amazing time. love the noodle photo of marlie!=)

    it was such a pleasure to meet you. see you in ny;)

  8. OMG!!! so jealouts, what a great group of ladies….love you all, and wish one day we can meet up!!

  9. super duper jealous here! i thought of you all many times over the weekend. what a fun time and thank you so much for your gorgeous pictures.

  10. What an awesome weekend! Love the photos and the food sounds amazing, and the company even better!

    Glad your wedding went well. Looking forward to some photos, love wedding photos :)

  11. Camille! What a wonderful recap of Monday. It was so great to meet you – such a joy! :) Your pictures look wonderful – I definitely need to save up for a new camera. We should all get together again soon – NYC ? ;) And do let me know if you make it out to Niagara :)

  12. I am so happy for all of you! What a beautiful memory was made that day :)

  13. AW, so fun! Glad you lovely ladies were able to meet and have so much fun! Love the pic of you guys all taking pics of food. Hilarious! And it’s a must right? ha ha! Cute cupcake containers too. :)

  14. What a fun looking afternoon. That pad thai looks divine! I am going to have to take a stab at it!

  15. The visit was SO much fun! I’m thrilled to have finally met you girlie!
    We must do another visit, soon!!!!
    Big hugs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

